Do You Tell Customers

Decorating By igurbisz Updated 18 Jul 2007 , 3:19pm by sweetbaker

igurbisz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
igurbisz Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 11:45am
post #1 of 13

Hi All,
I am new to cake decorating and have not yet made a stacked cake but I did make the puppy cake as my 1st time cake icon_biggrin.gif Anyway, was wondering if you tell customers about the extra stuff in the cakes (dowels, straws,wires) and do they have to dig out when cutting the cake?

12 replies
DebbyTCL Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DebbyTCL Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 12:01pm
post #2 of 13

Good Morning igurbisz,
When I deliver or they pick up the cake, I have a paper that goes with the cake telling them what is in their cake, directions on how to freeze any left overs (leftovers - hahahaha). Don't want anyone to bite into an unseen dowel, etc. and break a tooth. icon_cry.gif

LittleLinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LittleLinda Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 12:30pm
post #3 of 13

Yes, it's imperative that they know some kind of non-edible support is in the cake.

peg818 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peg818 Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 12:42pm
post #4 of 13

I too give a sheet with whats inside. I also, place all my wooden dowels in hot pink straws, so that they are easily seen and so that the wood doesn't swell and the cake picks up none of the wood taste.

canoewoman Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
canoewoman Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 12:53pm
post #5 of 13

That is a great idea peg818. I will have to do that.

thecakemaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thecakemaker Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 12:58pm
post #6 of 13

peg818 - great idea with putting the dowels into the straws!

Debbie

Janette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Janette Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 1:01pm
post #7 of 13

Peg - me too

I give them a sheet telling them what will need to be removed before cutting/serving the cake. I also drop of the information when I deliver the cake.