Grandparents Day????

Decorating By peacockplace Updated 9 Sep 2006 , 4:14am by sweetcreation

peacockplace Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peacockplace Posted 8 Sep 2006 , 9:40pm
post #1 of 11

Ok. This is my first year having a child in school. His kindergarten class is having a special treat for the grandparents and I have to bring something. Naturally, I'd like to a cake or cupcakes. How do I make something to wow the other moms (who don't know I do cakes) with a grandparents day theme. Is this a new holiday?

10 replies
CakeDiva73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiva73 Posted 8 Sep 2006 , 9:42pm
post #2 of 11

Oh crap, did I forget it again? Is it this weekend? I am done for....... icon_surprised.gif

I would make some cupcakes or something.... you can always deck them out to look fancy. This holiday has been around for a long time because I have been getting chewed out for years for forgetting it icon_cry.gif

sweetcreation Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetcreation Posted 8 Sep 2006 , 9:54pm
post #3 of 11

Brief history found at:
http://www.grandparents-day.com/short_ver.htm

It was passed in 1978 and was to be the first Sunday after "labor day". September was chosen to signify the "autumn years of life".

So, you could make a family tree or a cupcake cake with large colorful leaves with branchs and a trunk base. Then, have the names of grandma, grandpa, mother, father (mom and dad), sister, brother, aunt, uncle, etc. to show the family line from grandparents. Have both sides of family.

Just an idea. Hope that helps. It is not anticipated as well as Mother or Father's Day is.

peacockplace Posted 9 Sep 2006 , 12:49am
post #4 of 11

I like the family tree idea! Thanks... does anyone else have any ideas? I know we never celebrated GP day when I was growing up. I've just noticed over the past few years that they do stuff for it in school.

KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 9 Sep 2006 , 1:01am
post #5 of 11