What Does Everyone Do When It Is Sooo Hot?

Decorating By coreenag Updated 15 Jul 2007 , 2:58am by dolfin

coreenag Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
coreenag Posted 13 Jul 2007 , 8:41pm
post #1 of 20

Hi everyone. I was just wondering what do you all do to beat the heat? I am new to decorating so I do not have any orders that I need to fill but I am so bummed out because it is too hot to do any baking! icon_cry.gif I want to try out the new recipes listed and am dying to decorate something but can't turn on my oven.... what do you do to "fill the urge"?

19 replies
noley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
noley Posted 13 Jul 2007 , 8:43pm
post #2 of 20

i'm bad i just crank up the air and turn on the oven... I have to make cupcakes tonight for a bake sale tomorrow, but I will, at least bake after dark. I know most people on here simply bake very early in the morning or at night and then decorate the following day.
Jen

Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 13 Jul 2007 , 8:44pm
post #3 of 20

sit here reading and posting on CC!

play w/ fondant --- i'm going to learn yet how to do all those cute animals, figures and stuff. so far, I'm really good at "blobs" (well, at least I got one sci-fi movie covered!)

sweetness11379 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetness11379 Posted 13 Jul 2007 , 8:50pm
post #4 of 20

I was stressin about this a few weeks ago. It definately helps to bake on one day and then decorate on another. Its worked out ok since then. Also sticking to early in the am seems to work well too. Of course... turning up the AC and not worrying about the bill is the BEST way to beat the heat! icon_redface.gif that's a heat flash face not and oops face

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 13 Jul 2007 , 8:52pm
post #5 of 20

This is the time for **PRACTICE** icon_smile.gif
Get out a piece of styro or a cake pan and practice making different borders or some technique you haven't done before.