Fondant

Decorating By Breena Updated 20 Jul 2007 , 12:53pm by berryblondeboys

Breena Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Breena Posted 12 Jul 2007 , 2:28am
post #1 of 10

OK Im new to the cake game and was wondering how do i wrap a cake in Fondant I have no Idea how yall do it

9 replies
Tinarie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tinarie Posted 12 Jul 2007 , 2:41am
post #2 of 10

There is a article on how to make marshmallow fondant and decorate you cake with it. No matter what fondant you use at the bottom of the page the article shows you how to put the fondant on the cake. I hope this helps. Go to the articles section to find this.

JMama3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JMama3 Posted 12 Jul 2007 , 2:43am
post #3 of 10

For the record,do your work in a cool place.The heat is not a good friend of fondant! icon_razz.gif Good luck to ya!

Cassie1686 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cassie1686 Posted 12 Jul 2007 , 2:49am
post #4 of 10

Ok - start with a ball of fondant (there is a chart on wilton.com that tells you about how much fondant you need for each size cake - i will try to find the link for you).

The standard formula is: add the diameter of your cake, plus the height x 2. Example: you have an 8 inch cake, 4 inches tall.

8 + (4x2) = 16

You will want to roll your fondant out into a large circle that is 16 inches in diameter (if you are using an 8" cake). If you have a mat with measurements on it, roll the fondant out on that so you can see the diameter in one large circle. Roll it to about 1/4" thick. (I try to roll mine a little thinner, just be careful it will break easily when moving it to the cake.) Make sure it is even thickness all around. Ice your cake with your BC.

There are a few ways to cover the cake:

1. The way I find easiest is to roll the fondant onto my rolling pin loosely, starting at one side, lift it and unroll it over top of the cake.