3-Tiered Mini Cakes

Decorating By Solobaker Updated 23 Jun 2005 , 5:26pm by Solobaker

Solobaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Solobaker Posted 23 Jun 2005 , 4:13pm
post #1 of 3

I am a beginning cake decorator just finishing the Wilton Course 1. I'm having a problem with coming up with ideas to do on cakes. I can look at something and copy, but I'm not the best at coming up with my own creations. Does that come with time? Also, I'm doing mini 3-tiered wedding cakes for my cousin's bridal shower this week? I'm using the Wilton 3-tiered wedding cake pan. You get six mini wedding cakes per pan. Can anyone give me ideas to decorate these simply or does anybody have pictures of cakes they've used with this pan? I need to make about 25 of them, and since I'm a beginner, they can't be too complicated. The ideas that came in package look too complicated and time consuming. For my first, project I would like to stay simple. Your suggestions would be appreciated! Thanks.

2 replies
aunt-judy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aunt-judy Posted 23 Jun 2005 , 5:18pm
post #2 of 3

i commend you on your bravery. doing individual cakes is time-consuming and challenging, so bake your cakes and freeze them before decorating, and give yourself LOTS of time just to decorate (at least 5 hours -- estimated at 10 minutes per cake, but you might need more). i've never used the mini-tier pan, so the advice i'm going to offer is very general. question: are you putting them on little plates or little cake rounds? keep it simple. set yourself up for assembly-line style work: lay out several cakes at a time, ice them all, and then decorate. make a few extra, in case of accidents anywhere from the kitchen to the bridal shower.