Time Saving Tips

Decorating By Scrappinstephy Updated 15 Jul 2007 , 12:51am by Brickflor

Scrappinstephy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Scrappinstephy Posted 8 Jul 2007 , 8:10pm
post #1 of 25

Okay so I am still pretty new to cake decorating, but Im loving it! However, I am not loving how long everything takes me. I know I will get faster with time, but I was hoping some of you could share your time-saving tips. Any lil advice or tip is much appreciated!

24 replies
weberm05 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
weberm05 Posted 8 Jul 2007 , 10:27pm
post #2 of 25

Well...something that is saving me a lot of time right now is buying Sam's Club buttercream icing instead of making my own all the time.

weberm05 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
weberm05 Posted 8 Jul 2007 , 10:32pm
post #3 of 25

Well...something that is saving me a lot of time right now is buying Sam's Club buttercream icing instead of making my own all the time.

darkchocolate Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
darkchocolate Posted 8 Jul 2007 , 10:49pm
post #4 of 25

1. I can make my frosting the day before and color it if it needs to be colored, helps a lot.

2. Have your cake boards ready - covered if need be.

3. Having fondant made and or colored ahead of time.

4. Sometimes I bake and crumb coat the night before and decorate the next day. That way the dishes are done and I can have fun the next day decorating.

5. With practice I have gotten faster with smoothing my cakes. That used to take a long time!

darkchocolate

chqtpi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chqtpi Posted 8 Jul 2007 , 10:49pm
post #5 of 25

Welcome to the Addiction!!! (completely borrowed that from someone else-but I love iticon_smile.gif