I Just Quit My Day Job...

Decorating By mrsright41401 Updated 24 Aug 2006 , 12:32pm by karateka

mrsright41401 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrsright41401 Posted 23 Aug 2006 , 10:18pm
post #1 of 27

For the past while I've been a web developer for Grand Canyon University. We've had a hard time finding affordable daycare (360/week! icon_eek.gifthumbsdown.gif ) and so my husband & I decided that I'd quit and focus on cakes and he'd step up the pressure at work. We're going to be dirt poor for a while, but I know this is the right decision!

Now I have to start getting more customers because my goal is in 6 months is to have enough business that it warrants me renting some space at a professional kitchen.

Rachel

26 replies
CakeDiva73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiva73 Posted 23 Aug 2006 , 10:21pm
post #2 of 27

congratulations! icon_smile.gif

SweetBellina Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetBellina Posted 23 Aug 2006 , 10:22pm
post #3 of 27

i'm sorry about it mrsright, but being poor but doing your passion is better in my opinion.coz u will be doing what u really want to do....and gud luck with your new full time career..i just found out this moringing that i will be facing the same situation in exactly 9 months, if you know what i mean icon_wink.gif , so i too, would probably try to be successful with baking and cake decorating.. again, gud luck!

AngelaDay Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AngelaDay Posted 23 Aug 2006 , 10:23pm
post #4 of 27

Congratulations....you can do it. My husband is the bread winner here, we have 5 boys ( 11, 6, 2, 1) and cooking and baking are my thing too.....now all I need to do is to get the courage to get started.....keep us posted

Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 23 Aug 2006 , 10:25pm
post #5 of 27

here's a thought...

how about also offering web site development services to your fellow cake decorators who can do a cake but are clueless klutzes when it comes to doing a website?