Am I Good Enough? And How To Get Started...

Business By yellowjacket Updated 19 Aug 2006 , 3:41am by kjgjam22

yellowjacket Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yellowjacket Posted 14 Aug 2006 , 4:47pm
post #1 of 15

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to cake decorating...I started about 6 months ago, and I've done it almost exclusively for family. I think it's so much fun and I'd like to be able to do more cakes. The problem is, if I make to many cakes for my family we'll all weigh 500 lbs! So am I good enough to start selling my cakes? Please look at my photo album and be brutally honest.

If I should practice a bit before selling my cakes, is there anything specifically I should work on? If I am good enough, how do you get started? I feel really funny about selling cakes to my friends (I'd rather do them for free!), so who else can I market to and how?

Another question I have about getting started is how much should I charge? I've looked at the price matrix and it seems so overwhelming and tedious! I do mostly use IMBC which is more expensive because of all of the butter, and I bake from scratch. What would you charge for any of the cakes I've done?

I'm open to any advice and suggestions!

Thanks!

14 replies
cindww Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cindww Posted 14 Aug 2006 , 4:58pm
post #2 of 15

Your cakes look great so I have no doubt you could make a go of it! I can't help you with prices, though..it really depends on how much its costs you to get your supplies and what prices are like in your area.
Good luck!
Cindy

coolmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
coolmom Posted 14 Aug 2006 , 4:58pm
post #3 of 15