Anyone In Il?

Business By lauramw71 Updated 10 Aug 2006 , 3:31pm by chloe1979

lauramw71 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lauramw71 Posted 9 Aug 2006 , 6:33pm
post #1 of 7

I looked on the sites for the health dept. and state information on the home bakery thing. Holy cow. I didnt understand ONE word of ANYTHING. LOL Someone told me you CAN legally have a home bakery but im not quite believing that. My neighbor works for the health dept (inspecting kitchens no less)!!! So Im TERRIFIED. LOL
There's an office space for rent for $400 a month in the downtown area of my lil bitty (population 1900) town. But im NOT good enuff to get into something like that. NEVER attempted a wedding cake (never made it to the 3rd Wilton Class) and terrified to start before I get more practice in. So I dont think I would profit enuff to actually rent and renovate a location. I am a fantastic baker but I'd be baking 24/7 if I wanted to offer other baked goods to get a profit on a space like that.
Any insights?

Laura

6 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 9 Aug 2006 , 8:05pm
post #2 of 7

You best chance is to ask your neighbor is she knows anyone who might share their kitchen. A rental arrangment with a business that is only open part of the day, works for many people. The worst that can happen is she says no.

Unfortunately you are out of luck for a business without a licensed kitchen.

Lenette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lenette Posted 9 Aug 2006 , 8:10pm
post #3 of 7

Get the number for your local county HD. Some places allow you to bake certain things at home if you don't do ads. Check and see, you might be pleasantly surprised! icon_smile.gif Better to know than not, in my book. When I called I didn't give them a name or anything. A lot of inspectors are actually nice and friendly, mine are anyway. She's even trying to help me find a cheaper plumber! Good luck!

BeautifulCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile