Tootie Roll Roses

Decorating By SelphieAerith Updated 7 Aug 2006 , 11:43pm by kjgjam22

SelphieAerith Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SelphieAerith Posted 7 Aug 2006 , 7:33pm
post #1 of 9

I'm new to the whole cake decorating scene but a friend of mine told me that you can make roses out of tootie roll. I was wondering if anyone knew how to make them or be able to tell me where to look for the instructions.

Thank You in advance
Janelle

8 replies
getfrosted Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
getfrosted Posted 7 Aug 2006 , 7:39pm
post #2 of 9

There was a cake posted a couple of days ago with them ... could the creator give some instructions? Please!!!! ...

JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 7 Aug 2006 , 7:41pm
post #3 of 9

Tootsie rolls make great roses. If you have made roses from fondant or gumpaste, the technique is the same. Soften the tootsie rolls in your warm hands, or VERY carefully in the microwave. They can get very hot, so just a couple of seconds, and watch for hot spots.

If you haven't made roses, there is a good tutorial for bubblegum roses at baking911.com. The process is the same. Both tootsieroll and bubblegum roses can be made around lollipops. DumDum suckers work great, because they are small. Near Halloween, the have mini- Tootsie Roll Pops and they are terrific for roses. If you don't have either, you can just make a cone shape from the candy, and structure the roses around that. You can also use a Hershey's Kiss for the rose cone.

lsawyer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lsawyer Posted 7 Aug 2006 , 7:42pm
post #4 of 9

I'm not the creator of the previous post, but I've read that you can soften the tootsie rolls in the microwave oven, then roll it out and shape into roses. If you have a pasta maker, you can roll it out using that; it will give you a consistent thickness.

vixterfsu Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vixterfsu Posted 7 Aug 2006 , 7:52pm
post #5 of 9

I have chocolate roses in my gallery. Same