Dip Cake In Chocolate

Decorating By Brandymagic Updated 20 Jun 2007 , 12:34pm by Brandymagic

Brandymagic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Brandymagic Posted 17 Jun 2007 , 7:02pm
post #1 of 18

I'm new to cake decorating and I have been trying to dip my pieces of cake in melted chocolate. I'm having a problem with this. I have frozen my cake and when I try to dip my cake crumbles. My melted chocolate seems to thick. Maybe I do not have the correct recipe for my chocolate. I'm using the cakes for my granddauhter's wedding and they need to look special. Can anyone help me please I have to make 200 of these 3 inch cakes and the way I going I'll be lucky to get one made icon_cry.gif

17 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 17 Jun 2007 , 7:54pm
post #2 of 18

Can you put the cakes on a cooling rack and pour the chocolate over them?

NEWTODECORATING Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NEWTODECORATING Posted 17 Jun 2007 , 8:05pm
post #3 of 18

can you thin the choc. with crisco or veg. oil?

Or use Cheftaz ganache recipe from here?

Angie707 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Angie707 Posted 17 Jun 2007 , 9:08pm
post #4 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by indydebi

Can you put the cakes on a cooling rack and pour the chocolate over them?

thumbs_up.gif I agree. Thats the way wilton recommends to do it too.

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 17 Jun 2007 , 10:45pm
post #5 of 18

Are you making petit fours type cakes or are you trying to glaze whole cakes?

Here's a thread on ganache:
(How to glaze cakes, master recipe, and more.)

http://forum.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-334973-.html

Stacked Cakes with Ganache:

http://forum.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-132821-.html

Petit Fours:
(Recipes and instructions with tutorials.)

http://forum.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopicp-573771.html

HTH

Brandymagic Posted 17 Jun 2007 , 11:22pm
post #6 of 18