Do You Sketch Your Cake First???

Decorating By redsoxgirl Updated 21 Jul 2006 , 12:54am by prettycake

redsoxgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
redsoxgirl Posted 20 Jul 2006 , 12:51pm
post #1 of 28

I was wondering how long in advance you all start preparing your accents and if you make a sketch of your cake first... I don't and end up winging it and my cakes aren't nearly as beautiful as the ones on this site.

Just curious!

27 replies
Somethin-Sweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Somethin-Sweet Posted 20 Jul 2006 , 1:03pm
post #2 of 28

I do a sketch so that I will have something to show the client. It makes it nice for them to have something "visual" instead of what's in my head! LOL!

redsoxgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
redsoxgirl Posted 20 Jul 2006 , 3:25pm
post #3 of 28

is it rude to bump myself???

AmyKay Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmyKay Posted 20 Jul 2006 , 3:29pm
post #4 of 28

I'm still very new at this, so I usually design my cakes after other's I have seen. If that counts as sketching, then 'yes', I sketch. icon_wink.gif

ChrisJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChrisJ Posted 20 Jul 2006 , 3:30pm
post #5 of 28

I will "try" to do a sketch my by artistic talents are POOR in this department. There is a web site I ran across that looks promising but it is not up yet www.cakedesigncenter.com

I also will cut and paste other cakes I see for inspiration to try and get a visual of what I want.

dodibug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dodibug Posted 20 Jul 2006 , 3:37pm
post #6 of 28

I always sketch my cakes...now. Didn't used to and boy what a difference having your ideas down on paper makes. No more being upset that something I want to do on the cake can't be done because i already did x and it can't be changed now. I used to wing it but no more since I discovered the power and sanity a sketch provides me! icon_biggrin.gif

Cinderella24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cinderella24 Posted 20 Jul 2006 , 4:51pm