Leveling A Cake

Decorating By nokddng Updated 11 Jul 2006 , 5:02pm by debbie2881

nokddng Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nokddng Posted 10 Jul 2006 , 11:38am
post #1 of 16

Maybe it's just me but I seem to have a hard time leveling a cake. icon_sad.gif I'm still new at this so maybe I just need to practice more. Anyone have any tips?

15 replies
petitesweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
petitesweet Posted 10 Jul 2006 , 11:41am
post #2 of 16

Have you tried the Wilton cake leveler? I love mine.

MomofThree Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MomofThree Posted 10 Jul 2006 , 11:49am
post #3 of 16

I was never that good at leveling either, so I started pressing the layers down as soon as they come out of the oven. Put a cutting board or something flat on top and weight it down for about 5 minutes - nice and level and a nice baked surface to frost.

If it's too high to do that sometimes I level it while it's still in the pan and use the edge of the pan as a guide. That's probably a big no-no, but it worked.

Also, I bake at a low temperature for longer time and it's not as much of an issue. Usually 325.

DeniseRoy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeniseRoy Posted 10 Jul 2006 , 11:57am
post #4 of 16

I am also a big fan of the small wilton cake leveler. It works on cakes up to 12 inches.

MissT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MissT Posted 10 Jul 2006 , 2:53pm
post #5 of 16

I always use bake strips when possible - on everthing but shaped pans, and and then turn cake top layer 1/2 turn when I torte and levling is not much of an issue. If I do have to level, then I use the Wilton leveler.

petitesweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
petitesweet Posted 10 Jul 2006 , 3:38pm
post #6 of 16

Love the idea of turning the torted piece MissT! I'll have to try that one.

dogluvr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dogluvr Posted 11 Jul 2006 , 1:40am
post #7 of 16

I also use the baking strips and found that when I use them, I rarely have to do any leveling.