Chocolate Covered Strawberries- Help Please!

Decorating By Amy729 Updated 31 May 2007 , 9:12pm by ShirleyW

Amy729 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Amy729 Posted 31 May 2007 , 1:24pm
post #1 of 22

I am new to all this and may have a crazy questions but...

I tried to do chocolate covered strawberries and the green stems/tops turned very brittle and dried out. I put them in the refrigerator after I dipped them, could this be the problem? Also, I bought a "kit" that you put the container in the microwave and it melted the "chocolate" discs inside and then you dip, but it did not taste very good. Also some had a white film.

I have a cake that I need chocolate covered strawberries for in a couple days and would love some great advice.

Thanks!!!

21 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 31 May 2007 , 1:27pm
post #2 of 22

how far in advance did you make them? How old were the berries?

BoothsBest Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BoothsBest Posted 31 May 2007 , 1:34pm
post #3 of 22

I am not sure why your stems and leaves dried up, but I do know that choc covered strawberries are best when extremely fresh. Meaning I would not dip in chocolate until at the earliest the day before the event. The longer they sit, the juicer they become and have a tendency to seperate from the chocolate. Make sure you have a good quality chocolate to dip in and get a good thick coat on the berries. Good luck.

(This is all just what I have learned from my experience. Maybe someone else can give better direction.)

Good luck

Chefperl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chefperl Posted 31 May 2007 , 1:40pm
post #4 of 22

Do not dip the berries until you need them. Make sure they are fresh. Wash and dry them well.