Fondant

Decorating By Libbyloue Updated 6 Aug 2006 , 1:38am by Libbyloue

Libbyloue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Libbyloue Posted 2 Jul 2006 , 7:11pm
post #1 of 11

is it edible thumbsdown.gifthumbs_up.gif ? i am new at this and just starting out and i need A LOT of help! icon_cry.gif

10 replies
jen1977 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jen1977 Posted 2 Jul 2006 , 7:13pm
post #2 of 11

yes, it is edible, but the taste depends on the brand you use. I use marshmallow fondant that I make at home that tastes pretty good, and people always eat it. I've heard that Wilton tastes nasty!

Libbyloue Posted 2 Jul 2006 , 7:16pm
post #3 of 11

Wow thanks! but how can you make it? im sorry if i ask a lot of questions i just started and i am only 15 but i want to do this for a living or atleast on the side and i want to make my cake for my sweet 16 and i want to use fondant and make a chanel handbag cake but how can you make it?

jen1977 Posted 2 Jul 2006 , 7:24pm
post #4 of 11

16 oz white marshmallows
2 tb water
2 lb icing sugar (approx. 8 cups confectioners' or powdered sugar)
1. Melt marshmallows and water in a double boiler or microwave.
Heat until melted.

2. Place half of the sugar in a bowl. Make a well in the middle.
Pour melted marshmallow in and mix.

3. Add remaining sugar and continue kneading. (add more powedered sugar in tablespoons as you are kneading. Micture should not be sticky)

TIPS
---grease your hands and the bowl.
Also, let this stuff rest overnight.
It will be pretty stiff when you try to knead it again, but it can be microwaved for five to ten seconds (start off with 5) and it will soften right up and be perfect for rolling out and playing with.

Discard all the crusty residues.

TO USE
if fondant is too hard, place about 30 sec. in microwave. Dust work table with cornstarch, and knead for a couple of minutes.