Question About Cake Delivery

Business By JennieB Updated 29 May 2007 , 11:36pm by marmalade1687

JennieB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JennieB Posted 26 May 2007 , 6:15pm
post #1 of 9

I am pretty new to this whole thing so I'm not really sure if this is how things normally work. I'm just wondering if this is what I should expect. I had a wedding cake to deliver today to a banquet hall. probably the nicest one in my area. My DH walk to the door and said he had a delivery for so and so wedding and asked what door to bring it in. The man at the door said he would take it walked out to the truck took the cake and started inside my DH asked where he was taking it and the man said somewhere in the back room for now. My DH not sure if this is the norm asked for his name and then left. I'm just wondering if this is how "these halls" work these things. I am very worried that if something happens to the cake it is going to look bad on me. TIA Jennie

8 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 26 May 2007 , 6:25pm
post #2 of 9

NO. you should tell them you have to set it up. and take a picture.

Elizabeth19 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elizabeth19 Posted 26 May 2007 , 6:37pm
post #3 of 9

Always, always, always set it up yourself. Your reputation is on the line and you want to ensure that the cake looks great, this is the biggest day in a brides life (or pretty close to it!).
Just a suggestion instead of saying "delivery" you may want to phrase it, "Im here to set up the wedding cake for the Smith/Johnson wedding" and ask where the room/cake table is.
I agree with JoAnnB take a picture too! icon_smile.gif

tatetart Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tatetart Posted 26 May 2007 , 6:49pm
post #4 of 9