Best Buttercream Recipe???

Decorating By amos133 Updated 26 Jun 2006 , 1:08am by AgentCakeBaker

amos133 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amos133 Posted 24 Jun 2006 , 4:43pm
post #1 of 22

Morning ladies! I am still kinda new to cake decorating. I will be making a cake for my daughters birthday later today and I am going to try to make the buttercrem myself. I have been using the Wilton's premade tubs until now. So, I was undering which recipe you ladies think is best for buttercream? Thanks for you help!!! icon_biggrin.gif

21 replies
dianagreen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dianagreen Posted 24 Jun 2006 , 4:49pm
post #2 of 22

the buttercream dream recipe from this site - i love it - wont use anything but that now - good luck

Dordee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dordee Posted 24 Jun 2006 , 5:00pm
post #3 of 22

Another vote for buttercream dream thumbs_up.gif I love it! It's all I use.

projectqueen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
projectqueen Posted 24 Jun 2006 , 5:01pm
post #4 of 22

I use wilton's basic buttercream recipe that calls for 1/2 crisco and 1/2 butter.

Tastes so much better than the premade stuff, IMO.

Here's a link for the recipe:
http://www.wilton.com/recipes/recipesandprojects/icing/bcream.cfm

Of course, everyone has their preference so you'll have to experiment, but since you are making your icing today, it's a good basic recipe to start with.

HTH

Price Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Price Posted 24 Jun 2006 , 5:15pm
post #5 of 22

I was using Wilton 1/2 Crisco and 1/2 butter but still wasn't completely satisfied. Last weekend I modified it. I made it again this weekend for the 2nd time and really like the taste. Here's a link to the post I made last week with the recipe. If you decide to try it, let me know what you think. Good or Bad!! http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-29539.html

projectqueen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
projectqueen Posted 24 Jun 2006 , 5:20pm
post #6 of 22
Quote: