Monogram?

Decorating By lanesmom Updated 21 May 2007 , 9:52pm by lanesmom

lanesmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lanesmom Posted 17 May 2007 , 6:08pm
post #1 of 11

I have a cake that needs a monogram on it and I've never done one before. I was thinking about doing a fondant plaque and then writing the monogram on that. I want it to look very elegant. Does anyone have any suggestions on the best way to do this? I am worried that my freehand writing won't look very good.

10 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 17 May 2007 , 7:51pm
post #2 of 11

Using a writing program, you can print the monogram, the trace it or transfer it to the fondant plaque in several ways.

The easiest and quickest, is probably the pin prick method to mark the lines of the monogram to guide your writing.

miriel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
miriel Posted 18 May 2007 , 12:53am
post #3 of 11

Depending on the size of the monogram, you can use an alphabet cutter or a chocolate letter mold (filled with chocolate or fondant).

krystalp Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
krystalp Posted 18 May 2007 , 3:45am
post #4 of 11

Here's an idea from the wilton site...
http://www.wilton.com/decorating/basic/monogramtopper.cfm

lanesmom Posted 20 May 2007 , 8:41pm
post #5 of 11