Genderless Baby Shower Cake For Colleague I Don't Much Like?

Decorating By emmascakes Updated 17 May 2007 , 9:02pm by emmascakes

emmascakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emmascakes Posted 17 May 2007 , 4:16pm
post #1 of 10

I've been asked to make a baby shower cake for a colleague I'm none too keen on. I've worked 'with' her for two years and think she's said about ten words to me in that time. I'd like to do the cake as it's an opportunity to take a cake into work to showcase what I do when I'm not teaching.

She doesn't know the sex of the baby, I'm not about to ask her for ideas as she doesn't know she's having a baby shower and I've NEVER done a baby shower cake before, or even one for a child. Would love some ideas - the most fantastic the better as I'd really like to do something to wow socks off!

9 replies
yh9080 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yh9080 Posted 17 May 2007 , 4:24pm
post #2 of 10

How about one like Boween's "baby feet" cake? Baby feet on the side with fondant/gumpaste booties on the side? I did one like it for work and everyone raved over it. I've also done a regular cake like it in yellow because the sex of the baby wasn't known. Or how about the clothesline cake?

Since the gallery is down, here is Boween's website:
http://www.heavenlydelightcakes.com/

Sugarshack might also give you some ideas/inspiration:
http://hometown.aol.com/szcakes/myhomepage/index.html

awolf24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
awolf24 Posted 17 May 2007 , 5:00pm
post #3 of 10

Hmmmm...well, your cakes are always absolutely amazing so whatever you do will be great. Even though you don't particularly like her, I would go ahead and be creative so that everyone else can see how talented you are!

You can keep it gender neutral with yellow and greens. I always like celestial type baby shower cakes - like clouds and moons and stars. Or you could do yellow and greens with modeled teddy bears or something like that.