Dummy Cakes

Decorating By aikenkc Updated 22 May 2015 , 12:48am by 1haleyj

aikenkc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aikenkc Posted 1 Jun 2006 , 9:00pm
post #1 of 12

I'm just starting out as a cake decorator. I'd like some advise or photos of how to decorate a dummy cake; or what's the best way to frost these cakes. I'm doing my first wedding cake in September and I need more practice. icon_smile.gif Help>>>>>

11 replies
prettycake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prettycake Posted 1 Jun 2006 , 9:06pm
post #2 of 12

Hi,
First of all, are you related to Clay Aiken ??
I like Clay....anyway, when I did my dummy cake for the County Fair (in my photos - Blue and Gold), I used Fondant, EVERYTHING, fondant.

It is still looking good. Did it almost a month ago. I used royal icing as my glue. icon_smile.gif

jguilbeau Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jguilbeau Posted 1 Jun 2006 , 9:31pm
post #3 of 12

Bump.
I want to practice on a dummy cake, with buttercream frosting. It will not be for show, it will be only for practice. What should I cover the cake with, so I can reuse the icing when finished?

debbie2881 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
debbie2881 Posted 1 Jun 2006 , 9:36pm
post #4 of 12

jguilbeau i'm also new and i was told that you can use your cake pan to practice on. just flip over and decorate and its easy to get the frosting off.

jguilbeau Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jguilbeau Posted 1 Jun 2006 , 9:40pm
post #5 of 12

I find it is hard to get the icing to attach to the cake pan.

debbie2881 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
debbie2881 Posted 1 Jun 2006 , 9:44pm
post #6 of 12

hmm i havent tried it yet but which frosting are you using? if buttercream i'm guessing if its too dry then you would have a problem. how hard are you pressing the frosting to the pan? i'm just trying to think of why this would happen. maybe someone with more experience can help out. sorry i'm not much more help.

surfergina Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile