Feeling Guilty About Wedding Cake $

Decorating By beachcakes Updated 12 Jun 2006 , 4:03pm by candyladyhelen

beachcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beachcakes Posted 22 May 2006 , 2:18pm
post #1 of 32

Back in Dec. a friend's sister asked if I'd do her wedding cake for her. At first I tried to get out of it b/c I'd never done one before. A few months later she tells me she wants me to do it and i tell her ok i'll be fair with the price, as I've never done this before and was just a hobbyist. (I've since sold a few).

It's a 16-12-8-6 white cake torted w/ choc filling for 150, stacked, fondant-covered, with white choc. seashells, lustre dusted. She has her own topper. She just called me at work to discuss the details (I had never given her a price as I was trying to figure it all out). So I told her $325.

Now I feel really guilty about that price being high! I bake from scratch, so the ingredients cost a little more, also I have to have fondant shipped and need about 25 lbs of it. Also the Merckens for the seashells had to be shipped, and there were various molds and 16" pan I had to get. The filling is planned to be whipped chocolate ganache.

She kind of hesitated when I told her the price and now I'm afraid I insulted her or something. Her sister got married last May and had a lady do it for $300 (initally quoted $400) for 100 people, but it was three tier, BC with piped decorations and fresh flowers (not included in the price).

31 replies
lainee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lainee Posted 24 May 2006 , 1:50am
post #2 of 32

I don't think you should feel guilty. That cake will be a lot of work. Maybe you could talk to her about it and explain that, and also that fondant is not inexpensive. Explain why the cake she wants would cost more than the one her sister had.

Good luck.

mmdd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mmdd Posted 24 May 2006 , 2:00am
post #3 of 32

Don't you waste one second feeling guilty!! Don't you dare!