Chocolate Ganache...

Decorating By kuki Updated 23 Apr 2007 , 3:21pm by kuki

kuki Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kuki Posted 23 Apr 2007 , 4:05am
post #1 of 12

Sorry, my question is little dumn , but I am new in this. How do I frost a cake with chocolate ganache? do I have to mix the ganache before I put on the cake or just put it liquied direc on the cake. Do I have to put butter cream before the ganache or how it work ..

11 replies
moydear77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
moydear77 Posted 23 Apr 2007 , 4:17am
post #2 of 12

You can pour or wait til it sets and pipe like basket weave.

gateaux Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gateaux Posted 23 Apr 2007 , 4:22am
post #3 of 12

Like Moydear mentioned you can pour or pipe.
If your ganache is not quite pourable anymore but not yet set, you can try to use a spatula.
You can check out my photos. I did this for an egg at easter, then I found out from one of the posts, that you could warm up a spatula and even it out. I tried it with the leftover ganache and it worked out really nice. I did it on a muffin so I did not take a pic. But it worked great.

Good Luck.

kuki Posted 23 Apr 2007 , 4:30am
post #4 of 12

Do you frost the cake first with buttercream?

moydear77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
moydear77 Posted 23 Apr 2007 , 4:40am
post #5 of 12

If I am piping I just crumb coat and then pipe with no butter cream.

gateaux Posted 23 Apr 2007 , 4:43am
post #6 of 12

If you are going to pour I do not, if you use a spatula just like buttercream, you should.

Good Luck.

LaSombra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaSombra Posted 23 Apr 2007 , 4:47am
post #7 of 12

I like to pour it over buttercream. It's really yummy to have two layers of good stufficon_smile.gif

brilandken Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brilandken Posted 23 Apr 2007 , 4:54am
post #8 of 12