Miniature Individual Wedding Tier Cakes

Decorating By cbcw1964 Updated 5 May 2005 , 2:56pm by pelusa

cbcw1964 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cbcw1964 Posted 30 Apr 2005 , 9:26pm
post #1 of 19

Hi! I am undertaking the task of making my wedding guest all individual tiers mini cakes that will be placed in handled plastic boxes! (wedding is June 04 and I am doing this because we are not having a reception) Has anyone tried this? It is a Wilton project that uses mini and standard muffin pans. It calls for use of fondant but I am fearful of fondant...this is my first attempt at a special cake! Any ideas for cake batters that work up nicely in muffin pans and possibly tips on rolled buttercream icing. Also looking for guideance on how far ahead I can make these? Heck...I am lost...lol. Thanks to all whom can share their wisdom. I am more fearful of making these cakes than of the actual wedding! icon_redface.gif

18 replies
Lisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa Posted 1 May 2005 , 4:38am
post #2 of 19

Those sound like they are going to be sooo cute! I bet your guests will really enjoy them.

If you don't want to attempt fondant...you could use these instructions. It calls for covering the cakes with ready-to-use icing that has been heated and poured over the cakes. Sounds easier than covering all those little cakes in fondant too.

http://www.michaels.com/art/online/projectsheet?pid=e00118b

I think you could use just about any kind of cake batter you like. You can also make the cakes ahead of time and freeze them. Even after you decorate them, I wouldn't worry about them staying covered at room temp for a week as long as you didn't use any type of filling that needed to be refrigerated. Some say a cake can be left out even longer but my threshold is about a week...after that, I get worried about freshness.

I hope your wedding and your cakes are wonderful.

cbcw1964 Posted 1 May 2005 , 1:07pm
post #3 of 19