Lv Purse Cake ?'s

Decorating By mom23kids Updated 22 Apr 2007 , 5:31pm by cambo

mom23kids Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mom23kids Posted 19 Apr 2007 , 5:06pm
post #1 of 10

Hi...newbie here. I want to make a LV purse cake...my first. I want to use choc BC but haven't used luster dust yet. Can someone tell me how to use it. I want to make the orig purse with the gold initials. Has anyone done that before? How do I make the initials..I'm just starting out decorating so the simpler the better...thank you in advance. icon_smile.gif

9 replies
crystalina1977 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crystalina1977 Posted 19 Apr 2007 , 5:18pm
post #2 of 10

I have heard that some people use a stencil and apply the luster dust with a brush onto the purse. I think that would be way easier than freehanding it. I would have to assume that if you use buttercream it would have to be crusting, otherwise the stencil may be a problem for you. Or you could use fondant.

Suebee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Suebee Posted 19 Apr 2007 , 5:19pm
post #3 of 10

My partner and I have done a few LV purses. It has been the white with colored symbols. The cakes are covered in Fondant. We have done the LV's by hand with edible markers or we just used an airbrush. The airbrush looks smoother, but we've only used it a few times and it was acting up so it's not as neat as we would like. I made a template with stencil plastic and a pen burner (from Wal-mart) you may be able to make a stencil and then tap on the dust. I have airbrushed on BC (works great) but never dusted, the BC is to soft.

mom23kids Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mom23kids Posted 19 Apr 2007 , 5:31pm
post #4 of 10

I'd like to use all BC since I haven't perfected fondant yet. Would edible markers do the trick? The cake is for fun/family...just trying out new techniques.

Suebee Posted 19 Apr 2007 , 10:41pm
post #5 of 10

Sorry, you can't draw on BC.

lisascakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile