Cooking A 12 X 18 Sheet Pan Cake

Decorating By BakerJoe Updated 18 Apr 2007 , 3:24pm by cambo

BakerJoe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakerJoe Posted 18 Apr 2007 , 3:40am
post #1 of 16

This is my first try at cooking this large of a sheet cake. Any tips? How many boxes of cake mix does this take? How long to cook? I saw someone mentioned something about inserting metal flower holders into the cake -- does anyone know what that is for? All your comments and suggestions are much appreciated. Thanks. icon_biggrin.gif

15 replies
Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 18 Apr 2007 , 3:47am
post #2 of 16

the pan take 14 cups of batter according to Wilton.

so, if one mix makes about 4.5 - 5 cups -- then 3 mixes.

can use extender recipe ( http://www.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-3233-1-Extender-Cake-Recipe-2.html ) which turns one mix into 6.5 to 7 cups then only 2 mixes.

cook until done in 325 oven (springs back when pressed, smells "right", golden brown, and toothpick inserted comes out clean -- test several places)

flower nail (well greased -- flat head to bottom of pan) acts as a heating core to help center bake as fast as edges do so don't have done sides and undercooked middle. also helps to keep cake from getting a hump (dome). for this size use 2 nails.

HTH

-----
and if it hasn't been said before --> WELCOME!

BakerJoe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakerJoe Posted 18 Apr 2007 , 4:04am
post #3 of 16

Many thank you's! You answered all my questions!

brilandken Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brilandken Posted 18 Apr 2007 , 4:16am
post #4 of 16

I always wondered how to get the 12x18 to bake more evenly. I will have to try the flower nail trick next time.

lilthorner Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lilthorner Posted 18 Apr 2007 , 4:17am
post #5 of 16

aint Doug the best! Welcome!

thecakemaven Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thecakemaven Posted 18 Apr 2007 , 4:19am
post #6 of 16