Less Sugary Bc

Baking By Froggytat Updated 21 Apr 2007 , 3:41pm by Iloveweddings

Froggytat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Froggytat Posted 17 Apr 2007 , 11:39pm
post #1 of 15

Hey everybody. I'm a newbie and I've really had a lot of fun with this site and everybody has been super nice about my cakes...even the funky ones! icon_rolleyes.gif Anyway, I have been using the Crisco and powdered sugar BC recipe and no matter what flavorings I add it just tastes like sugar to me. Is there a way to make this recipe taste less like sugar or is there another formulation that doesn't taste as much like sugar? I thought about trying the butter flavored Crisco in the recipe to see what would happen but I chickened out. Anyway....I can't wait to see ya'lls suggestions!! Thanks!
--Stacy

14 replies
berryblondeboys Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
berryblondeboys Posted 17 Apr 2007 , 11:48pm
post #2 of 15

I just bookmarked a recipe where it's very similar to the wilton recipe, but it's 1/2 butter, 1/2 crisco and has FLOUR to temper the sugar!!!

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-2523-Julies-Less-Sweet-Buttercream-Frosting.html

I haven't tried it yet, but it would be good for when you don't want to make a cake that needs to be refrigerated.

Otherwise Italian and French and Swiss buttercreams are less sweet too, but are TOTALLY different in construction, but are pipe-able (if that's a word!)

Melissa

Sugarflowers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugarflowers Posted 17 Apr 2007 , 11:52pm
post #3 of 15

Try adding about 1/2 tsp. of salt to your recipe. It will help cut the sweetness and enhance the other flavors.

If you decide to go 1/2 butter, 1/2 shortening, get the UNSALTED butter. Salted butter has about 1 tsp. of salt per stick (I think that's the amount, not sure).

Another way to improve the taste of frosting is to use milk, 1/2 & 1/2, or flavored coffee creams as your liquid.

Good luck and I hope this helped.

Michele