Needed: Cake Ideas For A Mortician!

Decorating By puppysnurfles Updated 12 Jun 2007 , 2:32pm by marthajo1

puppysnurfles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
puppysnurfles Posted 13 Apr 2007 , 3:06pm
post #1 of 33

Hey everyone, one of the secretaries from work is leaving to be a mortician down south and I need to make her a going away cake.

I was thinking cemetery...but I'm not certain.
-If someone could come up with something a little more creative, that'd be awesome.

Also, if I go with the cemetery thing, what would work as well as graham crackers for tombstones? I personally dislike graham crackers....but I can't think of another cookie/item that would cut and shape as well as them.

Thanks in advance!

Also- this is my first time to come to this site, and I'm already addicted!
-Samantha

32 replies
Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 13 Apr 2007 , 3:27pm
post #2 of 33

First: W E L C O M E ! ! ! ! ! ! !

(warning--> this site is addictive!)

--------------------------

Oh, boy! This could be fun.

If you haven't done it yet, take a gander at the galleries in particular the one for Halloween where you'll find lots of cemetery cakes.

For tombstones -- yes graham crackers would work -- but so would cookies such as ladyfingers, or fig newtons or vienna fingers or chocolate covered graham crackers.

------------------

but -- since this is for a mortician ---

other possibilities include:

casket or coffin cake (message possible for coffin cake -- Here's hopin' you're coffin up success)

or could do a take on the embalming table w/ a body laying on it -- covered discreetly by a sheet of course.

or a hearse

or a big floral display like at funerals -- to the dearly departed!

oh you can be so "evil" with this one.

have fun

come back for help if needed

and do post pics!
LL

sweetbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetbaker Posted 13 Apr 2007 , 3:30pm
post #3 of 33