Need Cake Fillings!

Baking By qtdbklyn Updated 31 Mar 2006 , 4:05pm by Beckalita

qtdbklyn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
qtdbklyn Posted 28 Mar 2006 , 9:44pm
post #1 of 15

I am new to cake decorating, just started the Wilton Course 1. My instructor told us to use an individual pudding cup as our cake filling. Can anyone share with me their recipe/ideas/or tips on other cake fillings.
Thanks

14 replies
jewels97 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jewels97 Posted 28 Mar 2006 , 10:01pm
post #2 of 15

I did one over the weekend that was an instant coconut pudding mix (4 serving size), 8oz Cool Whip and some crushed pineapple. It turned out good. I am going to do a cookies and cream tonight. Also, for a fast filling a canned pie filling works really well.

icedbycarrie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icedbycarrie Posted 28 Mar 2006 , 10:04pm
post #3 of 15

Welcome to cake decorating!! I have two favorite fillings, and both are easy - one does come from boxed vanilla pudding, but instead of making the standard pudding recipe, follow the instructions for cream pie filling. It's very similar, except that you add whipped cream to it - it makes it a little lighter and is very good over a layer of fresh strawberries in the middle of a cake.

My other favorite is a raspberry filling - I buy a small bag of frozen raspberries and put them in a saucepan on the stovetop and heat them until they break down, then add sugar until they're as sweet as I want them and some cornstarch to thicken them a bit. I never measure - just keep taste testing until you get it the way you want!

Happy decorating! icon_smile.gif

Misdawn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Misdawn Posted 28 Mar 2006 , 10:14pm
post #4 of 15