Please Help!!! Uneven Cake Layers!

Decorating By mlynnb Updated 18 May 2007 , 1:10pm by SweetChick

mlynnb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mlynnb Posted 2 Apr 2007 , 12:03pm
post #1 of 19

Oh, I am sooo frustrated! The last few cakes I have made have come out of the oven lop-sided. (I'm positive it is my oven baking unevenly, since this only began recently) I have tried switching the cakes in the oven half way through the baking time, but that is not working. I have been trying to level off the cakes, but apparently I'm not good at that when they are as uneven as they have been recently! icon_cry.gificon_cry.gif
So here is my question....Is there anything I can do, short of buying a new oven (which is NOT in the budget right now!)? What about bake-even strips, or a flower nail? I have a wedding cake I'm doing for a friend next weekend that is 3 tiers and I'm having nightmares about the cake being uneven! icon_surprised.gif
Thanks for your help!

18 replies
aine2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aine2 Posted 2 Apr 2007 , 12:16pm
post #2 of 19

I don't know it this will help at all but I did a tutorial on cake covering and it shows at the beginning how I take the tops off cakes and how to ensure you put the cake back together in the same place after you cut it into layers. Go to my blogspot (under my signature) and look down the right hand side for tutorials and click onto covering a cake and board. It might be useful in some way. I hope so! thumbs_up.gif

jguilbeau Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jguilbeau Posted 2 Apr 2007 , 12:19pm
post #3 of 19

I suggest you get an oven thermometer & check your tempaerature, I have to set my oven 25 degrees less, and the bake-even strips do help also. Also the cake levels by wilton helps to torte or even out you cake evenly.
http://www.wilton.com/store/site/product.cfm?id=3E30D67E-475A-BAC0-5792C543763E855E

http://www.wilton.com/store/site/product.cfm?id=3E30D68E-475A-BAC0-541667EE11BAE82B