Royal Icing On Wedding Cakes ?????

Decorating By FaithsPlace Updated 28 Mar 2007 , 11:34am by Housemouse

FaithsPlace Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FaithsPlace Posted 26 Mar 2007 , 4:03am
post #1 of 16

Ok, I am still really new at all of this but, this dont seem right...I was looking over some websites trying to learn me something new and then I read on a tutorial to icing wedding cakes to pipe 3 or 4 layers of Royal Icing, EWWWW!
That stuff seems far to icky to eat on an entire cake. Does anyone here cover any cake in RI?
http://www.pastrywiz.com/wedding/wedding15.htm

15 replies
terabera69 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
terabera69 Posted 26 Mar 2007 , 4:50am
post #2 of 16

OMG! I would never put RI on a cake. My mother-in-law did on one of her first cakes. She said that everyone crunched away. I can see using RI to add accent details over BC.

AZrunner Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AZrunner Posted 26 Mar 2007 , 4:59am
post #3 of 16

I got an armload of books from the local library and read here and there, and it turns out that Royal Icing was or is still used on wedding cakes, more common in the past, and not as common anymore, in the U.S. Hmmm?! My cuz also told me how they had to crack the icing open on the bridal cake at a wedding she attended. I told her, I'd never use Royal Icing on a wedding cake, unless of course if the bride demanded. But somehow, I just couldn't picture myself crunching on a wedding cake.

melysa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melysa Posted 26 Mar 2007 , 5:02am
post #4 of 16

i think that it is typical to put it over traditional fruit cakes in europe and elsewhere, it keeps it fresh for months...so i hear!

Housemouse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Housemouse Posted 26 Mar 2007 , 7:02am
post #5 of 16