Need Some Help, Re: Making Hard Candy To Look Like Gems!!

Decorating By diane Updated 2 Mar 2006 , 4:17pm by taralofley

diane Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
diane Posted 2 Mar 2006 , 1:59pm
post #1 of 17

i am making a cake that will have real-looking gems on them, like rubies and emeralds. problem is...i can't find any hard candy that looks like that, so i have to make them myself. i've never worked with hard candy before so i need some help in that area. should i go from scratch or can i melt some jolly ranchers or other hard candies?? icon_confused.gif also, i don't have any gem shape molds so what should i use??? icon_eek.gif

16 replies
Crimsicle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crimsicle Posted 2 Mar 2006 , 2:57pm
post #2 of 17

well...you could "cut" the gems yourself. One of my former hobbies was gem-cutting, so I can say with some confidence that it's not a "cutting" process but rather a "sanding" process. Maybe you could sand them into the rough gem shape by putting increasingly finer grades of wet/dry sandpaper on a firm surface and rubbing them into shape. And then finish them off by rubbing over a fine, wet sponge. I've been thinking about this myself, but I was going to start with those big gumdrops and shave them into the basic shape with a razor blade and then "polish" the facets with a sponge. Hard candy would look better, but would take longer. Let us know how you end up doing this.

diane Posted 2 Mar 2006 , 3:05pm
post #3 of 17

thanks for the tip! i never thought of gumdrops. i'm gonna try the hard candy and if it doesn't work out, i guess i'll do gumdrops.

PSLCakeLady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PSLCakeLady Posted 2 Mar 2006 , 3:09pm
post #4 of 17

Hard candy molds work for what you need. They are out there. I sell them here at my store but you can find them online I'm sure.

Peachez Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Peachez Posted 2 Mar 2006 , 3:16pm
post #5 of 17