Ganache

Decorating By mich1 Updated 19 Feb 2006 , 8:58pm by BalloonWhisk

mich1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mich1 Posted 17 Feb 2006 , 1:28pm
post #1 of 31

Hi, I was wanting to try making ganache today and was looking at the recipe on this site but I have a silly question. It calls for 1 oz of sugar. How much does that measure out to in a measuring cup. Also how do you put the ganache on the cake. Can you spread it or is it to thin for that? This is my first try with it and I am a little nurvous. If it is really thin how do you put it on without making a mess? Thanks for any suggestions.

Michelle

30 replies
KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 17 Feb 2006 , 1:34pm
post #2 of 31

the longer you let ganache sit.....the thicker it gets, if you refrigerate it......it will really thicken up almost like a dense fudge. So basically after you make it you just allow it to sit as long as you feel necessary to get the thickness you're after....some people like to pour it over a cake for a thin, smooth, glossy coat......others like to wait for it to thicken up and use it like you would any other frosting.....I personally when using ganache like to pour it on the cake......then allow the rest to thicken and then pipe decorations on the cake with the rest of it.......I think cakes are so beautiful all done in the dark brown. As for the sugar, you really don't need it unless you're using an unsweetened chocolate. 1 oz. would be 1/8 of a cup.....so....2 Tblsp. however I always make mine with semisweet chocolate chips and cream and it always comes out good not too sweet, but just enough to not be bitter. hope this helps

Niki7227 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Niki7227 Posted 17 Feb 2006 , 1:34pm
post #3 of 31

You should not need to add sugar to a ganache. Ganache is a proportion of cream and chocolate, and nothing more.

Perhaps this isn't a true ganache recipe. In that case I can not help you further without seeing it.