Cake For 150 People - What Do You Suggest?

Decorating By cakesbycorey Updated 7 Jul 2007 , 9:26pm by melysa

cakesbycorey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbycorey Posted 14 Mar 2007 , 2:25pm
post #1 of 20

I have been asked to make a cake for my friend's bridal shower. This will be my largest cake order so far (I am still fairly new to this). What sizes of pans do you suggest I use .... I need the cake to be 150 servings.

19 replies
calvarykari Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
calvarykari Posted 14 Mar 2007 , 2:41pm
post #2 of 20

Depends on what you are doing. Do you want round, square, rectangle, heart and how many tiers?

sandie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sandie Posted 14 Mar 2007 , 5:50pm
post #3 of 20

Just a bump to help you out

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 14 Mar 2007 , 8:04pm
post #4 of 20

wow. 150 person shower? I don't even KNOW 150 people!

let us know if you are looking at tiers or sheets.

Cancook Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cancook Posted 6 Jul 2007 , 8:26pm
post #5 of 20

There will be a wedding and also 150 people. She wants round pans...so how many? 10" and 8" and 6" will do?
PLEASE SOMEONE HELP ME??
Thank you

miriel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
miriel Posted 6 Jul 2007 , 8:40pm
post #6 of 20

This chart from CC shows the number of servings for different size/shape pans: http://www.cakecentral.com/article14-Cake-Baking-Cutting--Serving-Guide---2-in-Deep-Pans.html

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 6 Jul 2007 , 8:41pm
post #7 of 20

If you are doing 2-layer rounds, I use 14/10/6 for weddings for 100, using the Wilton Wedding cake chart (1x2x4 servings). I don't count the 6 as part of the servings.

For 150, I use 16/12/8, again not counting the top tier.

If you use the 14/10/6, you could have a 12x18 sheet cake (single layer, serves 54, 2x2" servings.

Here is the Wilton chart to help you with other combinations....