Not Sure How To Handle This

Business By karateka Updated 15 Mar 2007 , 1:30am by Melvira

karateka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karateka Posted 13 Mar 2007 , 12:41pm
post #1 of 17

Hi everyone-

Got a somewhat delicate situation here and I don't know what to do.

My brother has a friend that is getting married May 19. They asked him if I could do his cake. He put us together. He originally told me on the phone that they wanted a 3 tier wedding cake and sheet cake for the rest. Now I get an email with a picture of a whimsical cake that they like, and tell me "The sheet cakes are already taken care of, you would just be making the wedding cake"

Add to this that I already have a wedding booked for that weekend. I don't know what to do. I don't think I like having sheet cake that I didn't bake served at the wedding. Plus I've never done a whimsical cake before (complete with off kilter tiers). But my brother has obviously been recruiting for me, and I'd hate to turn down his best friend.

When I spoke to the groom, they didn't want to do a tasting, because he "didn't care" what it tasted like, "I mean, I'm sure it tastes good, you know?"

I'm scratchin' my head here... icon_confused.gif

16 replies
playingwithsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
playingwithsugar Posted 13 Mar 2007 , 1:06pm
post #2 of 17

At least the couple is notifying you that there will be other cakes there. Just recently, one of our members authored a thread where she/he delivered the wedding cake, only to find out that there were other cakes waiting in the kitchen that someone else had done.

JMO - Since the groom is a friend of the family, give it a whirl. You can try a practice run with just the cake and some buttercream, to practice doing the tiers. You don't even have to make it as large as they like; as long as you get the tier cutting right, you will be able to do it again on a larger scale later on.

Theresa icon_smile.gif

jguilbeau Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile