Wafer Paper ...help...

Decorating By Pearl70 Updated 15 Mar 2007 , 1:40am by tcturtleshell

Pearl70 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pearl70 Posted 12 Mar 2007 , 11:20pm
post #1 of 21

I bought wafer paper today and I do not know how to use it. Can anyone explain what all i can use it for?

20 replies
Pearl70 Posted 12 Mar 2007 , 11:28pm
post #2 of 21

please help give advice on this..

lindsaycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lindsaycakes Posted 12 Mar 2007 , 11:41pm
post #3 of 21

I've never used it before, but I'm planning on buying some so that I can make the butterflies. There is a tutorial here about how to make realistic looking butterflies, which look so neat. Also, fairy wings.

Good luck!

Crimsicle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crimsicle Posted 12 Mar 2007 , 11:46pm
post #4 of 21

I bought it for butterflies. But, my favorite use was for dogwood leaves. I Googled dogwood leaves and was able to make them botanically correct. I've also used it for edible images for my pet cakes, which I brag about having no sugar. It's cheaper than icing sheets, so that's a double benefit. I put the image of the birthday dog on the cake with it. Lots of people use them for diplomas and other paper product depictions. Signs and plaques, too.

Pearl70 Posted 12 Mar 2007 , 11:49pm
post #5 of 21

how do you panit them?

tcturtleshell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tcturtleshell Posted 13 Mar 2007 , 12:04am
post #6 of 21

I use them alot. I use editable markers to outline & then BCI, Royal icing or Color flow, & even chocolate melts to fill in the pics. I have used editable markers to fill in but it makes the paper shrivel up & I don't like that. I think you could also use piping gel w/ coloring & paint them that way. Never tried that though but I'm sure it can be done.

CMarie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CMarie Posted 13 Mar 2007 , 6:25pm
post #7 of 21