Air Brush Question

Decorating By KCsmom98 Updated 31 Jan 2006 , 7:53pm by sweetcakes

KCsmom98 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KCsmom98 Posted 29 Jan 2006 , 3:52pm
post #1 of 3

here i go with another question'icon_redface.gif' I am wanting to try my hand at air brushing. A lot of the cakes that i see on here that are airbrushed are amazing, and my husband, who is a closet artist, would be helping me alot with the airbrush work. (he just don't know it yet). Since I am just starting out, I don't have a whole lot of money to buy a "professional" airbrush set. I would like to purchace one for under $100., if that is possible. My question is this, would the airbrush set that you find in the local craft stores, or Wal-Mart, that you use to airbrush model cars and such work for airbrushing cakes. If so, what kinds of colors would i have to get to work with it? I didn't know if it would work or not, so that's why i'm asking the pros here at CC. You guys always give such great advice. Thanks, Jen.

2 replies
elliott1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
elliott1 Posted 30 Jan 2006 , 8:19pm
post #2 of 3

I have the same ? I found this air brush kit http://www.silkpaint.com/airpen/index.htm and was wondering if anyone has used it. My mom can get it out of her CraftersChoice mag and it is only $99. would like to try this first to see if I should get one of the kopykake kits

sweetcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetcakes Posted 31 Jan 2006 , 7:53pm
post #3 of 3