Cake Mix Extender

Decorating By TheCakerator Updated 10 Mar 2007 , 3:13am by 2cakes

TheCakerator Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheCakerator Posted 6 Mar 2007 , 4:18pm
post #1 of 29

Ok this weekend I think I am going to try the cake mix extender recipe. I have never used this before so just a few questions ...

I know it says in the recipe that it makes a boxed cake mix taste like scratch, I have always used boxed mixes and thats what my family is used too .. how different will this cake taste?

I want to make an 11X15 sheet cake ... would two boxes and the cake mix extender do the job? I would like a tall cake, but not necessarily a double layer cake ..

The recipe calls for either yogurt or sour cream .. If I use low-fat yogurt, and want to make a white cake, would I buy vanilla yogurt or what flavor? I don't eat yogurt myself .. is there a better choice for white cake?

Thanks for any help!

28 replies
Steady2Hands Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Steady2Hands Posted 6 Mar 2007 , 4:29pm
post #2 of 29

Taste ~ delicious!

11 x 15 ~ one box with the extender is plenty

Sourcream vs. yogurt ~ I've only used sour cream but if I used yogurt I would probably use plain. I would think that vanilla would taste good too.

jdelectables Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jdelectables Posted 6 Mar 2007 , 4:34pm
post #3 of 29

I use this with all my box mixes. It tastes wonderful. I use sour cream; never tried yogurt.
2 boxes with 2 extenders (which is what I would do) will make a tall 11 x 15 plus some cupcakes or a 6" cake.

twinsline7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
twinsline7 Posted 6 Mar 2007 , 4:49pm
post #4 of 29

it might depend on the height you need....I use it for a 9x13 and get a full perfect height....

you may need to use 2 like jdelectables said....and any extra put in a small pan and have for yourself icon_biggrin.gifthumbs_up.gif

TheCakerator Posted 6 Mar 2007 , 5:03pm
post #5 of 29