Is Whipped Cream Icing Hard To Deco With?

Decorating By D77 Updated 26 Feb 2007 , 9:24pm by D77

D77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
D77 Posted 22 Feb 2007 , 3:27pm
post #1 of 14

My family and I really love the whipped cream icing. Now, I have never worked with it and I am kind of new at this. So my question is; is it very difficult to work with? And if so should I wait until I get more experience under my belt to try?

TIAFA

13 replies
karmicflower Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karmicflower Posted 22 Feb 2007 , 4:56pm
post #2 of 14

I agree, its very delicious, but not great for decorating with, because of its consistency. Easy to frost the cake with, and you could do a pretty shell border around the top and bottom, but not good for making decorations like roses or fancy borders.

HTH,

Jenn

committed2cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
committed2cake Posted 22 Feb 2007 , 4:58pm
post #3 of 14

our cake decorator at work encourages us to order with buttercream, she says the whipped is tougher and colors can run. But a lady ordered a kit cake the other day with whipped, and it was quite elaborate, and it was great. She put it in the cooler as soon as she was done, I would like to know exactly what problems people run into with whipped...

moejoe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
moejoe Posted 22 Feb 2007 , 5:06pm
post #4 of 14

I use the wilton whipped cream to frost and decorate cake. It does make good shells flowers and sometimes I can get a rose done. I also have used the Rich's non dairy whipcream and I can also do the same. They both taste good.

tyty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tyty Posted 22 Feb 2007 , 5:11pm
post #5 of 14

If you make a stableized whipped cream it is easier to work with. I use the one from Wilton website. You have to work pretty fast or put it into the fridge when it starts to get too warm. Then you can take it back out and continue to decorate.