Fondant Or Gumpaste For 3D Figures

Decorating By Marilipe Updated 22 Feb 2007 , 1:30am by mamacc

Marilipe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Marilipe Posted 19 Feb 2007 , 7:27pm
post #1 of 12

Hi,
I'm really new at this, so I would love a little help from you.
I am planning to do a Bear in the Big Blue House cake for my daugther's 2nd birthday... I was thinking about making the little guys and the blue house with fondant, but everytime I start sculping it seems like the fondant doesn't hold its shape, the figures start to "get fatter" like the dough is too soft for 3d figures..
I saw that gumpaste would be better for this kind of work, but the thing is I live in Brazil, and I don't know what tylose is, so is there any other recipe or anything I could substitute it for making the gumpaste?
Also, what is knox gelatin, an ingredient needed at the pastillage recipe, and would this, the pastillage, be better for sculpting 3d figures?
thanks

11 replies
sassijen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sassijen Posted 19 Feb 2007 , 7:54pm
post #2 of 12

I can't help much but here is a bump. And welcome to CC

NewbeeBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NewbeeBaker Posted 19 Feb 2007 , 9:03pm
post #3 of 12

I don't have the answers to the gumpaste/pastillage questions, but I have read on here that some CC members will add fixodent to their fondant to get it to dry quicker for figurines/molded items. Don't know if you have this stuff there, so I am including a link so you can see what it is. Jen

http://www.fixodent.com/productsAdhesiveCreams.jsp

Edited to add...the CC members who used this, said they used the powder form, not the cream.

Marilipe Posted 20 Feb 2007 , 1:26am
post #4 of 12

Is this the same as corega?? to keep dentures os place??

heavensgaits Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heavensgaits Posted 20 Feb 2007 , 1:38am
post #5 of 12