Wedding Cake Or Cupcakes??

Decorating By ashlymomx2 Updated 15 Feb 2007 , 12:50am by jmt1714

ashlymomx2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ashlymomx2 Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 7:20am
post #1 of 17

My question is, what would you do for a wedding where there will be 300-400 people? My friend really wants cupcakes. I like the idea of cupcakes because I have never done a wedding cake before. But, that would be a lot of cupcakes!! Would it be easier to just have a cake? Other question, any advice on design of cake? I would rather do all buttercream. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

16 replies
cambo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cambo Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 9:12am
post #2 of 17

How about doing both! Antonia74 has some great pics posted using her wonderful cupcake stand....and there's cake on the top tier. You could also use a cake stand and make a couple of tiers of cake....then the rest cupcakes. Just a thought. I guess I would say cake for tht many people...but she's the bride! You're right, that's a lot of cupcakes.

leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 8:43pm
post #3 of 17

If the bride is open to the idea I would suggest doing both! You could do a smaller tiered cake maybe set up on a higher stand with cupcakes all around it.

If I had to choose one or the other it would be the wedding cake though. I personally don't have enough room in my current house to do that many cupcakes and have them be to the standard I would want them.

However if she wants the cupcakes maybe you could do a two tier cake for the rehearsel dinner or for the day after when they open gifts?

beccakelly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beccakelly Posted 14 Feb 2007 , 9:26pm
post #4 of 17