It Isn't 2 Inches?

Baking By MonkeysMom88 Updated 11 Oct 2011 , 3:21pm by TexasSugar

MonkeysMom88 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MonkeysMom88 Posted 10 Oct 2011 , 2:13am
post #1 of 15

I have a cake mix and when I mixed it and all that I poured it into the 2 inch deep cake pan and it didn't even cover half. Is this normal? Are there cake brands that make 2 inches without buying 5 boxes? If not, are there delicious cake recipes you recommend? Chocolate or vanilla.

14 replies
ReneeFLL Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ReneeFLL Posted 10 Oct 2011 , 2:32am
post #2 of 15

What brand of cake mix did you use? Betty Crocker has made their mixes with less product than it used to be. They say that it will still make the same amount of cake. lol

MonkeysMom88 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MonkeysMom88 Posted 10 Oct 2011 , 2:42am
post #3 of 15

I used pillsbury moisture and obviously I'm a newbie haha because I forgot that when you bake it it rises (brain fart). It's still a bit short though. It's maybe 1 inch or a little more thick. If there is a cake mix that tastes good and is thicker I'd love if someone shared it. I like Duncan Hines and I've never tried their cake mix, maybe theirs bakes up thicker.

Jennifer353 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jennifer353 Posted 10 Oct 2011 , 8:32am
post #4 of 15

What sized tin did you use? Obviously that makes a difference but sorry I dont use cake mixes so can't help with other brands/thickness.

DSmo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DSmo Posted 10 Oct 2011 , 10:30am
post #5 of 15

I use Pillsbury regularly and I found one box makes about 4 1/2 cups of batter. The amounts I use to get pretty darned close to 2" layers are:

Two 6" rounds = 1 box
Two 8" rounds = 2 boxes
Two 10" rounds = 3 boxes
Two 12" rounds = 4 boxes

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 10 Oct 2011 , 4:17pm
post #6 of 15

http://www.wilton.com/cakes/making-cakes/baking-wedding-cake-2-inch-pans.cfm