Everyone Loves My Cakes, Am I Good Enough To Open A Business

Business By Ldtx Updated 5 May 2011 , 6:21pm by littlecake

Ldtx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ldtx Posted 23 Apr 2011 , 3:43pm
post #1 of 16

Hello,
I wanted some HONEST evaluations of my talent, so I thought I would post and see what is said. I LOVE decorating cakes, and started decorating cakes for my family and friends about 5 years ago. I am self taught, learned from trial and error and looking online. All my family and friends tell me I should open a business, and I am considering it, but don't know if I am really talented enough. There is SO much talent on here, I would love some of your opinions.
Thanks, Lesa
ldtx

15 replies
LisaPeps Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LisaPeps Posted 23 Apr 2011 , 4:30pm
post #2 of 16

The money makers in the cake industry are wedding cakes, I can only see one wedding cake in your pictures.

In my honest opinion, I think you need to practise more.

I noticed in the majority of your tiered cakes that the heights of the cake vary, especially in the toy story, teenage and flip flop cakes. You need to make sure each tier is the same height and are level.

I think you need to perfect covering cakes with fondant before starting up a business. A lot more brides ask for fondant cakes now. Your buttercream cakes are good though.

It's very easy for other people to say "You should so start a business", but they don't understand the process. Is it even feasible for you to drop everything and open a business within the next week, month, year? A lot of cake decorating business don't make a profit within the first year and some decorators don't give them self a wage in that year either.

NerdyGirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NerdyGirl Posted 23 Apr 2011 , 4:43pm
post #3 of 16