How Would I Do This Cake?

Decorating By rkei Updated 9 Jun 2010 , 1:33am by dm321

rkei Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rkei Posted 8 Jun 2010 , 10:51pm
post #1 of 10

How would I do this cake? Could I do the yellow fondant in BC and just do the flowers in MMF or something? How Easy is it to put fondant on a cake? Do I need to put a coat of BC under it to help it stick? Please help.[/img]
LL

9 replies
LindaF144a Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LindaF144a Posted 8 Jun 2010 , 11:37pm
post #2 of 10

I would like to know how the plaque is made.

I think it is pink fondant on top of the color BC. I can see some distortion on the yellow that leads me to believe it is BC.

KayMc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KayMc Posted 8 Jun 2010 , 11:49pm
post #3 of 10

I'm a newbie, but I think the flowers are gumpaste.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 9 Jun 2010 , 12:10am
post #4 of 10

....... Could I do the yellow fondant in BC and just do the flowers in MMF or something?......
Yes you could easily.
.........How Easy is it to put fondant on a cake? .........
If you have ever made a pie crust you should be able to handle fondant. The problem most 'newbies' have is getting the bottom edges w/o folds. This can be eliminated by putting the cake on a board the same size as the cake which is then elevated on a can (or something) that is smaller than the cake size. Example: 8" round cake on 8" round board placed on a Crisco can or 6" cake pan etc.
..........Do I need to put a coat of BC under it to help it stick?......
Yes, that's a good idea. That way if someone does not like the fondant they can remove it and still have icing on their cake.

I agree w/the other poster that the cake is 1st iced in yellow colored buttercream incing, then a pink piece of fondant is added over it for the scolloped edged top. Number, bow and white plaque are gumpaste or fondant stiffened with GumTex or Tylose.