Touchy Subject Of Cake Add Ons After Pick Up

Decorating By chefjess819 Updated 24 Feb 2010 , 10:50pm by chefjess819

chefjess819 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chefjess819 Posted 10 Feb 2010 , 1:23am
post #1 of 14

i'm set for a consult with a cake decorator on saturday to order my wedding cake. i just want a simple cake so i can keep cost down since we will be paying for everything ourselves. now...i have found a website that offers premade gumpaste sprays. very low price for them. would it be rude for me to purchase the flowers online and put them on the cake? i have no idea about how much experience she has, shes a new business in town and havent seen any of her work. i dont know if she is capable of doing them herself, or what she would charge for them if she can. my question is, would you be offended if someone added gumpaste flowers to a wedding cake that you made? i would be using them as a topper for the cake. any advice would be great. TIA!

13 replies
lawebb21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lawebb21 Posted 10 Feb 2010 , 1:29am
post #2 of 14

I have never made a wedding cake, nor would I attempt one, however, I believe that the people that do make them think of them as their art and probably would be offended. I would suggest talking to them in advance and let them know what you had in mind. I purchased my own cake topper and that was used and she had no problems, but if you go and just add stuff after she is done I would think they would be upset but it is your cake to do with what you want.

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 10 Feb 2010 , 1:30am
post #3 of 14

I'd want to know about it. Who knows, I might be able to buy them cheaper.

cdavis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cdavis Posted 10 Feb 2010 , 1:30am
post #4 of 14