Decorating A Stacked Cake

Decorating By jlkallred Updated 15 Apr 2009 , 8:22pm by Brownie1954

jlkallred Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jlkallred Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 1:59pm
post #1 of 16

I'm just learning and couldn't find an answer to a question in my head! I want to make a tiered cake (no pillars) and I can't figure out how to pull it together. Do I decorate each tier, then assemble...or assemble, then decorate (the tiers will be totally different from each other).
Thanks for the advice. I love this site!

15 replies
cupcakemkr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakemkr Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 2:08pm
post #2 of 16

Hi! Welcome!

You want to decorate first then dowel the bottom tier and then stack

do the border between the first and second tier after stacking

see a demo here from the articles tab on cake central
http://www.cakecentral.com/article23-Teired-Stacked-Cake-Construction.html

Good luck

caseyhayes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
caseyhayes Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 2:10pm
post #3 of 16

Is this it? www.youtube.com/watch?v=xHY_F53ClJ8

Brownie1954 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Brownie1954 Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 2:10pm
post #4 of 16

Sounds like you want to make a stacked cake. As with all cakes, torte and fill with whatever filling you are going to use. You then have to crumb-coat each tier. Let these cakes sit overnight, so they can "settle'
Since you are stacking, make sure you dowel rod each tier, so it will support the tiers about it. You decorate each individual tier, before you stack them together. Good luck! icon_smile.gif

Brownie1954 Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 2:13pm
post #5 of 16

Forgive me....I should have told you correctly that you do decorate the tiers first, THEN dowel rod them for support... icon_redface.gif Silly me.....

caseyhayes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
caseyhayes Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 2:22pm
post #6 of 16

HaHa wrong thread icon_redface.gif That was for the TT cake icon_lol.gif