For All Of Those Scared Of Fondant

Decorating By burgderb Updated 15 Oct 2009 , 7:18pm by grandmom

burgderb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
burgderb Posted 10 Apr 2009 , 5:23pm
post #1 of 19

OK I am no professional by any means but just do cakes for my own kids, friends have just started asking me to do cakes for their kids, I just did an all buttercream cake, I usually use MMF. Buttercream is way harder, more work and mine didn't look so good I actuall cried making this cake
LL

18 replies
jer702 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jer702 Posted 10 Apr 2009 , 5:27pm
post #2 of 19

Okay, is this the cake you did and didn't turn out so good? I'm absolutely in love with this cake.

burgderb Posted 10 Apr 2009 , 5:33pm
post #3 of 19

you are too kind, my sides aren't square my corners well, there are dents and smoosh marks and I think i put at least two thumb prints on the sides. I am in awe of all the perfect work we see here on CC and when you try to do it well ...

crystalina1977 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crystalina1977 Posted 10 Apr 2009 , 5:34pm
post #4 of 19

in my opinion buttercream is way harder you're right...but you have a talent for it. i dont know why you cried about that cake it looks good in the picture and im sure the bday girl loved it. maybe youre being too hard on yourself.

jer702 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jer702 Posted 10 Apr 2009 , 5:37pm
post #5 of 19

I think it comes back to being our worst critic. I'm by far still a newbie and looking at that cake as I would if I was the one paying for that cake..it would be perfect. I really do like it very much, I have a 6 yr old girl who loves Hannah Montana, and its honestly a cake that I would love, and that she would love. Great job.

__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 10 Apr 2009 , 5:40pm
post #6 of 19

I think it looks great! I couldn't pull off a sheetcake to save my life! icon_smile.gif

CarolAnn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile