Box Mix Amounts?

Decorating By Stephania27 Updated 24 Oct 2008 , 2:30am by kakeladi

Stephania27 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Stephania27 Posted 23 Oct 2008 , 7:42pm
post #1 of 7

Hi everyone!

I am a newbie, and I was wondering if anyone could tell me how many cups of prepared batter a box mix will make. I tried looking in the forums with no luck (although I am sure it has been asked and answered somewhere!).

Also, I am so thankful to find this site! I have been bitten by the cake decorating bug, and have already tried some recipes from here and have been inspired by everyone's beautiful cakes!

Thanks!

Steph

6 replies
bigsisof3kids Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bigsisof3kids Posted 23 Oct 2008 , 8:47pm
post #2 of 7

Hi Stephania! Welcome to CC icon_smile.gif
A box mix will generally yield 4-6 cups of batter. I use Duncan Hines, because it is a higher yield then other brands, like Betty Crocker. HTH!

banba Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
banba Posted 23 Oct 2008 , 9:59pm
post #3 of 7

I asked something similar the other day. I wanted to know the weight of a box mix because I wanted to try the WASC which calls for 2 box mixes.... full stop.

Two box mixes could be anything.

For such a popular recipe the response to my question was very poor indeed.

I was always told that a good recipe and the correct way to write a recipe is to have all weights and measurements laid out, so a box of this and a stick of that does not make much sense all over the world.

A well written recipe should always include cake pan sizes and temperature guides.

And I think yields should be added to the list too!

aztomcat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aztomcat Posted 23 Oct 2008 , 10:13pm
post #4 of 7

I usually get about 5 cups from a DH mix then I use the cake mix extender listed here and get at least one extra cup of batter.

Mike1394 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mike1394 Posted 23 Oct 2008 , 10:20pm
post #5 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by banba