The Longest Ride Of My Life!

Decorating By brnrlvr Updated 5 Jun 2008 , 12:52am by johnniekake

brnrlvr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brnrlvr Posted 2 Jun 2008 , 2:07am
post #1 of 17

Today I learned a VERRRRY startling lesson. I Almost always transport my cakes fully complete. Today I had a wedding that had very unusual cakes that I really wanted to complete before transport, but I was VERRRYYY worried about it. I finally decide I WILL stack them and I will try chilling them- which I have never done before- like I have seen people sugest here on CC. OMG!!! What a GRRRREATTT tip!!! I will never transport without chilling again!! Although it was still a scary ride, the cakes were like a rock! No jiggling and swaying like usual. WHy have I not done this before?!! Duh! It only makes sence! I just want to say thank you to everyone on cake central for all the great advice and tips they are willing to share to help make everyone successfull in this business!
LL

16 replies
mkolmar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mkolmar Posted 2 Jun 2008 , 2:13am
post #2 of 17

What beautiful cakes! I'm so glad to read that this tip works. I've never chilled them yet before transport. (I've only done 3 wedding cakes) but if I ever do another one I will chill it first.

Sugar_Plum_Fairy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugar_Plum_Fairy Posted 2 Jun 2008 , 2:21am
post #3 of 17

Thanks so much for sharing your experience. I'll tuck that one away for future use.

Oh, mkolmar, Happy Birthday to you.....Happy Birthday to you..... icon_biggrin.gif

Tomoore Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tomoore Posted 2 Jun 2008 , 2:24am
post #4 of 17

I completely agree! Chilling is this best way to go!!

gottabakenow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gottabakenow Posted 2 Jun 2008 , 1:33pm
post #5 of 17

awesome cake! i love the different sizes of ribbons.

Sugar_Plum_Fairy Posted 2 Jun 2008 , 3:41pm
post #6 of 17