Ka Pouring Shield - Useful Yes Or No

Decorating By Eileenscakes Updated 22 May 2008 , 2:43am by kjgjam22

Eileenscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Eileenscakes Posted 20 May 2008 , 7:52pm
post #1 of 39

Hello All!

I am hoping to get some feedback on this...

My DH bought me a KA 5q for my bday, it did not come with a pouring shield and I am finding it is a hard thing to actually find the correct model for the lift bowls. So...should I pay a crazy amount on ebay (29.99 + 12 shipping) or just use a cloth???

Thanks for your help!!! icon_biggrin.gif

38 replies
AJsGirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AJsGirl Posted 20 May 2008 , 8:05pm
post #2 of 39

Can't live without my pouring shield. But then again, I am a VERY messy baker. icon_smile.gif

darandon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
darandon Posted 20 May 2008 , 8:20pm
post #3 of 39

mine came with the shield and I never use it, I just put a towel over my mixer.

KASCARLETT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KASCARLETT Posted 20 May 2008 , 8:22pm
post #4 of 39

I don't like the pouring shield. I think it's more trouble than it's worth. It seems to make a bigger mess than when I don't use it. The powdered sugar "seeps" out from around the rim and really make a huge mess.
I just lay a kitchen towel over my mixer to keep powdered sugar and the like from "misting" out! It's much easier for me because I don't have to worry about taking that darn thing off! lol

Omicake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Omicake Posted 20 May 2008 , 8:26pm
post #5 of 39

DITTO!!!

yellobutterfly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yellobutterfly Posted 20 May 2008 , 8:29pm
post #6 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by darandon

mine came with the shield and I never use it, I just put a towel over my mixer.

ditto!

Suzycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Suzycakes Posted 20 May 2008 , 8:30pm
post #7 of 39

I use it all!