Help! I'm New At Cake Decorating & Need Some Encouragem

Decorating By Traci9130 Updated 17 May 2008 , 4:18pm by Traci9130

Traci9130 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Traci9130 Posted 16 May 2008 , 10:01pm
post #1 of 9

Hi...Just as a little background, I just started cake decorating back in October of this year, when I started to take some classes....Although the cakes that I have done have been pretty and family and friends were impressed by them, to be honest, browsing this site, I am totally overwhelmed...Will I ever be able to make cakes as beautiful as these????

Last week I tried to make a cake in the shape of a pocketbook...Easy, right? I figured, how hard could it be? I had the pictures and instructions right in front of me...Well, as I was carving and carving, the pocketbook ended up taking more of the shape of a bowling bag than a trendy pocket book...I was very disappointed in myself, thinking that if I can't do something like that, how am I every going to learn to make all those beautiful flowers and techniques that I am so eagar to learn.

Please, if there is anyone out there who had had similar problems when they first started, let me know...I would LOVE to hear about them...It will bring me encourgment to know that I am not alone and wasting my time...All the cakes on this website are so beautiful and are an inspiration to me...Hopefully, I can strive, one day, to be confident in my ability and make cakes as wonderful as the ones here...My heart is willing...

Thanks in advance for all of your help!

8 replies
LaTasha Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaTasha Posted 16 May 2008 , 10:45pm
post #2 of 9